Is a 10-inch pan 10 inches? Compare rim and cooking area
Advertised size is not flat cooking diameter. Compare the nominal label, rim and cooking surface before treating pans from different brands as interchangeable.
Compare published measurements
Scroll sideways to see every field. Column headings sort the table. Missing measurements stay “Not stated”.
| Made In 10-inch Stainless Clad Frying Pan | 10 in | 10.5 in | 7.5 in | 3.5 in | Not stated | 18 in | Not stated | 2.25 lb | Not stated | Not stated | Not included |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Made In 8-inch Stainless Clad Frying Pan | 8 in | 8.5 in | 5 in | 2.75 in | Not stated | 15 in | Not stated | 1.75 lb | Not stated | Not stated | Not included |
| Made In Seasoned Carbon Steel Wok, wok only | 13 in | 13.5 in | 5.5 in | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not included |
Keep each measurement separate
Flat cooking surface is not automatically the magnetic contact area underneath. Missing diameters are not estimated from photographs.
Compare areas as well as inches
For a round flat surface, area is π × diameter² ÷ 4. The drawing uses that arithmetic with the listed cooking diameters; it does not estimate heating performance.
Flat cooking diameters to scale
7.5 in flat diameter · 44.1786 in²
5 in flat diameter · 19.635 in²
5.5 in flat diameter · 23.7583 in²
Questions before you choose
Does the advertised diameter describe the cooking surface?
Not necessarily. The rim and flat cooking surface are different measurements. A missing flat diameter stays unknown.
Is the flat cooking diameter also the magnetic base diameter?
Not necessarily. The cooking floor is inside the pan; the induction-active base is underneath. Keep those measurements separate.
Updated · The Well Stocked Kitchen